My New Singer 327K


This is my Memorial Day find at Goodwill. This Singer 327K was sitting in the window behind the registers. It was marked at $40. (You can see the red 040 on the machine… They apparently wanted to make sure that price wouldn’t be lost, and wrote it all over the top of the case in multiple locations. It is on the machine in two places, and on the bottom of the case too. The accessories were in a clear plastic bag and it was taped to DEATH all over case. It was a mess. A can of Singer sewing machine oil came in the bag, and it got on a lot of the stuff. The white paper residue on the top of the machine is what’s left over from a price tag sticker that was put on there just in case someone missed all the red sharpie… With the Memorial Day sale going on, plus the Goodwill card I had, the machine only cost $28.37!!! I really love the blue color.

The “newSinger 327K– She needs some cleaning up. Goodwill went to town with clear packing tape and some kind of red marker all over the machine and case in multiple places. I guess they wanted to make SURE people knew it was marked at $40

I did a quick search on the internet and found out a lot of people think this is a nice reliable machine. The serial number on the bottom was a pain to find. The sewing machine tilts out backwards from the case and is attached to the base somehow. It weighs a LOT. To tip the machine back, you move the little clip by the cord in the picture above, and it swings back on two pins which must be hinges of some kind located at the back.

This machine was born in 1965 according to the Singer website. [EX-402.915 to EX-675.436 made in 1965]

This is the stuff that came with the machine. It was taped to death in a plastic bag all over the case. I’m not sure what all the feet do, or what exactly everything is yet. There’s some mystery items I’ve never seen before in here. I don’t know what the things in the matchbook are. They feel like they might be mini emery boards but the advertisement is from a dress shop, and I’m not sure if the square black thing is a special kind of magnifier for something specific. There’s also a strange plastic foot that has two channels in the bottom that looks like it may ride over yarn.

A shot from the back of the machine.

This is also printed on the back of the machine. The rust isn’t too bad overall. I am not sure if I can get rid of it, or put something on it to stop it from getting worse. I doubt I can get rid of the rust around the joins without really trashing the paint.

I took this picture and can’t help but think of the music from 2001 A Space Odyssey lol.

I was told this was a button hole making thing??? I can’t figure out how this contraption attaches to the sewing machine. It scares me a little bit and reminds me of a thermostat. I have no idea what to do with this.

The extras that came with the machine before I dumped out the cream colored box for pictures. The button machine lives in that green box. (I downloaded a PDF of the correct manual.) The book in the picture does not belong to this model, but it contains great information on how to do some sewing techniques that aren’t really advertised these days. Things like how to use a zig zag machine to embroider, darn something, and fix different kinds of rips. The Montgomery Ward Signature model URR 265 A is also a mystery. There isn’t ANY information about those sewing machines and even more specifically, that model, on the internet. The URR 265 A might have been what the owner upgraded to, or possibly from, this Singer. I can’t find the date the 265 was made.

A nice picture of the machine and the bag-wrapped table. We had storms and I didn’t want to risk putting the machine on a wet table to photograph it.

The foot pedal in the last picture appears to be original to the machine. I saw some pictures of this model and some have later model foot pedals on them. There is some rust on the trigger but overall it looks to be in decent shape. The actual wall plug on it shows some rust or  maybe electrical burns on the prongs. The cord feels old, but I haven’t sewed with the machine yet to see if the cord gets hot or not. There was a slip of paper that shows this machine was most likely serviced at least once at a local sewing machine repair shop. It may be worth asking them for the repair history of the machine. The Goodwill employee plugged it into the wall and it ran beautifully without thread in the store. The motor sounded nice and smooth and the needle moved freely. That piece of fabric was under the foot with the local repair shop sticker when it was sitting in the store window. I’m guessing it was proof the machine ran well after it was serviced last.

The pictures in this post were taken with my friends Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ35 digital camera.

My little Olympus VR-370 arrived today so I’m finally free to take pictures whenever and wherever I want to!  :) It came a day earlier then its scheduled delivery date! It will be interesting to see the quality of my camera versus his in future posts I’ll update when I clean up and test sew with this little beauty, but she really needs the marker abuse and sticky residue off of everything!

Please feel free to comment!

